



MINUTES OF ANNUAL MEETING OF ROSCOMMON COUNTY COUNCIL HELD IN THE Council Chamber - Áras an Chontae, ON Monday, 22nd June, 2020

- PRESENT: Cllr. Paschal Fitzmaurice PRESIDED
- MEMBERS: Clir V. Byrne, Clir L. Callaghan, Clir I. Connaughton, Clir T. Crosby, Clir J. Cummins, Clir N. Dineen, Clir L. Fallon, Clir J. Keogh, Clir D. Kilduff, Clir O. Leyden, Clir M. McDermott, Clir M. Mulligan, Clir J. Murphy, Clir J. Naughten, Clir K. Shanagher, Clir A. Waldron and Clir T. Ward.
- OFFICIALS: Liam Bergin, Director of Services Eugene Cummins, Chief Executive Majella Hunt, Director of Services Martin Lydon, Director of Services Shane Tiernan, Director of Services Patricia Bohan, Meetings Administrator

Apologies:

108.20 TRIBUTE TO THE LATE DET. GARDA COLM HORKAN

The outgoing Cathaoirleach, Cllr. Fitzmaurice paid tribute on behalf of his fellow councillors on the passing of Det. Garda Colm Horkan from Castlerea Garda Station who was tragically lost his life in an incident in Castlerea town on Wednesday 17th June 2020. He expressed his condolences to the Horkan Family from Charlestown and his colleagues in Castlerea Garda Station and former colleagues in Ballaghaderreen Garda Station where he was stationed for a number of years prior to his recent appointment in Castlerea. He outlined his dedicated service to the people of Roscommon where he had served for many years. The esteem in which he was held was evidenced by the large gatherings in Castlerea, Ballaghaderreen and his home town of Charlestown in the fast few days.

The Chief Executive, on behalf of the staff of Roscommon County Council and the management team and his own behalf expressed his heartfelt sympathy to the family of Detective Garda Colm Horkan, to his father Marty and his sister and brothers to his family and friends and to every member of An Garda Síochána.

A minute's silence was observed and the elected members and staff then went to the Roscommon Garda Station to sign the book of condolences.

May he rest in Peace.

109.20 ELECTION OF CATHAOIRLEACH

The outgoing Cathaoirleach thanked the members and management team for their support in the past year. He outlined the importance of the role as Cathaoirleach of the Council in promoting County Roscommon.

The members thanked Cllr. Fitzmaurice for his contribution to the role in a fair and independent manner.

He then invited proposals for the position of Cathaoirleach for the forthcoming year.

It was **PROPOSED** by Councillor Crosby **SECONDED** by Councillor Leyden That Councillor Laurence Fallon be elected as Cathaoirleach.

It was **PROPOSED** by Councillor Ward **SECONDED** by Councillor Dineen That Councillor Anthony Waldron be elected as Cathaoirleach

A vote was taken on the election of Cathaoirleach which resulted as follows:-

VOTING FOR THE ELECTION OF COUNCILLOR FALLON:- Councillors Callaghan, Crosby, Cummins, Fallon, Fitzmaurice, Keogh, Leyden, McDermott, Murphy, Naughten. (10)

VOTING FOR THE ELECTION OF COUNCILLOR WALDRON :- Councillors Connaughton, Dineen, Kilduff, Mulligan, Shanagher, Ward, Waldron (7)

ABSTAIN: Councillor Byrne

Cllr. Laurence Fallon was deemed elected as Cathaoirleach of Roscommon County Council

Cllr Fallon thanked the members of the council for their support in electing him as their Cathaoirleach for 2020/2021. He welcomed his family and long-time supporter Donal Feely to the gallery

He outlined some issues that will be a priority for him and the county in the coming year:

- Response and effects of the ongoing pandemic remote working, reopening of businesses, shop local, benefits of restart grant
- Mitigation of negative effects of climate change
- the council must plan and develop this county across all sectors promoting a clean green environment with much natural history and heritage and take full advantage of the hidden heartlands programme by promoting and expanding their many tourism facilities such as Rindoon, Rathcroghan, Lough Key.
- Welcome the concept of Global Rossie day and look forward to the rescheduled event
- The cessation of peat harvesting in the Midlands has had a massive effect an impact on our county and this must be fully recognised by all those involved in the Just Transition programme and we must play a central role in this.
- The elected members and the public contribute to the new county development plan.
- The prudent management of finances over the coming years and the issue of retention of LPT raised in a county.
- Co Operation between Roscommon and Westmeath with regard to the development of Athlone.

The members wished the new Cathaoirleach well in his role in the coming year.

The Chief Executive thanked the outgoing Cathaoirleach and looked forward wto working with the new Cathaoirleach in the coming year.

110.20 ELECTION OF LEAS-CATHAOIRLEACH

The Cathaoirleach, Cllr. Fallon invited proposals for the election of Leas-Cathaoirleach.

It was **PROPOSED** by Councillor Leyden

SECONDED by Councillor Crosby

That Councillor Marty McDermott be elected as Leas Cathaoirleach.

It was PROPOSED by Councillor Shanagher

SECONDED by Councillor Kilduff

That Councillor Nigel Dineen be elected as Leas Cathaoirleach

A vote was taken on the election of Leas Cathaoirleach which resulted as follows:-

VOTING FOR THE ELECTION OF COUNCILLOR MCDERMOTT:- Councillors Callaghan, Crosby, Cummins, Fallon, Fitzmaurice, Keogh, Leyden, McDermott, Murphy, Naughten. (10)

VOTING FOR THE ELECTION OF COUNCILLOR DINEEN :- Councillors Connaughton, Dineen, Kilduff, Mulligan, Shanagher, Ward, Waldron (7)

ABSTAIN: Councillor Byrne

Cllr. Marty McDermott was deemed elected as Leas Cathaoirleach of Roscommon County Council

Cllr. McDermott thanked the members for the great honour in being appointed as Leas Cathaoirleach and the members wished him well in his appointment.

111.20 DATE OF MEETINGS

On the **PROPOSAL** of Councillor Leyden

SECONDED by Councillor Naughten

It was **AGREED** that the following should be the dates for holding the Plenary Meetings in 2020-2021:

27th July, 2020 No Meeting in August 28th September 2020 19th October 2020 23rd November 2020 21st December 2020 25th January 2021 22nd February 2021 22nd March 2021 24th May 2021 28th June 2021 Annual Meeting & Plenary Meeting

112.20 COMMEMORATION OF ANNUAL MEETING OF ROSCOMMON COUNTY COUNCIL HELD ON 21ST JUNE 1920

The Cathaoirleach welcomed Deputy Frank Feighan T.D. to the meeting to attend the 100 year commemoration of the Annual meeting of Roscommon County Council.

The Director of Services, Majella Hunt presented the members with a Commemorative Booklet featuring a copy of the minutes of the original meeting on 21st June 1920. This meeting passed a resolution of allegiance to the Irish Free State. It also rescinded a motion passed on 16th May 2016 that had condemned the rising of 1916 by tearing out the pages from the minute book of 1916 and burning them. Included in the booklet is a list of the elected and ex officio members of Roscommon County Council including James Feeley, the grandfather of Frank Feighan T.D., and a biography of the members extracted from Michael J. Lennon's "A Dictionary of Roscommon Biography", published in June 2020. Ms. Hunt also advised the members that the original minute books are currently on display here in the Council Chamber.

Cllr. Orla Leyden, who had proposed the motion last month to commemorate the 100 year anniversary expressed her appreciation for the excellent production which was a fitting commemoration. She acknowledged the presence of Deputy Feighan and the democratic legacy that has been followed throughout the years and the importance of recognising those who came before us.

The Cathaoirleach then formally launched the booklet commemorating the 100 year anniversary of the annual meeting of Roscommon County Council.

This concluded the business of the AGM.

The foregoing Minutes are Confirmed and Signed:

ició Schon

Meetings Administrator

Cathaoirleach

Countersigned